At Governors State University College of Health and Human Services, we depend on our partners in the health and human services fields to provide internship and practicum opportunities which help prepare our students for the actual situations they will experience in their first jobs after they graduate. 

If you would like to work with us to place students in your facility, please contact one of our Field Experience Coordinators.

If you would like to apply to study in one of our programs, please contact the Admissions Representative listed for that program.

  • MHS in Addiction Studies (32 hours)

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Courtney J. Kibble, PsyD, LP, LPC, CADC
    ekibble@govst.edu 

    Kelly Robinson - Academic Advisor
    kroinson@govst.edu

    Internship (with optional Advanced Internship)

  • Recovery Support Specialist Program

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Nancy Burley,
    nburley@govst.edu 

    Debra Sbalcheiro - Placement Process-dsbalcheiro@govst.edu
    Laura Owens -  Program enrollment - lowens@govst.edu

    Internship (with specialty act options)

     

  • MHS in Addiction Studies and Counseling Concentration (60 hours)

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Serena Wadwa, Psy.D., LCPC, CADC, RYT, CCTP
    swadhwa@govst.edu

    Serena Wadhwa, Psy.D., LCPC,CADC RYT, CCTP
    swadhwa@gost.edu

    Practicum and Internship

  • MHS in Communication Disorders (54 hours)

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Judy Platt, MHS, CCC-SLP/L

    jplatt@govst.edu     

    Jessica Bonner, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

    jbonner@govst.edu

    Praticum (3 semesters total)

  • MHA – Masters in Health Administration (54 hours)

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Ning Lu, PhD, MPH
    Chair and MHA Program Director
    nlu@govst.edu

    Ning Lu, PhD, MPH
    Chair and MHA Program Director
    nlu@govst.edu

    Field Experience

  • MSHI – Master of Science in Health Informatics (33 hours)

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Nafees Qamar
    Professor/Coordinator
    Master of Science in Health Informatics (MSHI)
     mqamar@govst.edu

    Nafees Qamar
    Professor/Coordinator
    Master of Science in Health Informatics (MSHI)
    mqamar@govst.edu

    Health Informatics Senior Capstone/Internship

  • MSN – Masters of Science in Nursing (42-44 hours)

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Terri Chairse, MSN, RNtchairse2@govst.edu     

    Kelly Robinson - Academic Adisor
    krobinson@govst.edu

    Clinical Site Application

  • MS in Occupational Therapy

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Rebecca Kvasnicka
    rkvasnicka2@govst.edu

    Patti Kalvelage, MS, OTR/L
    pkalvelage@govst.edu

    Fieldwork

  • DPT – Doctor of Physical Therapy(119 hours)

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Amy Bala, PT, DPT, WCC, CWS,     FACCWS
    abala@govst.edu

    David Diers, Ed.D., PT, ATC
    ddiers@govst.edu 

    Clinical Experiences

  • MSW – Master of Social Work (60 hours or 32 hour advanced standing)

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Januari Wilson, MSW, LCSW
    jwilson7@govst.edu 

     

    mswadmissions@govst.edu  
    (monthly info. sessions held)  

     

    Field Education

  • BSW – Bachelor of Social Work (hours)

    +

    Fieldwork Coordinator

    Admissions Contact

    Term for Placement

    Januari Wilson, MSW, LCSW
    jwilson7@govst.edu 

    Lorri Glass, PhD., LCSW, ACSW
    lglass@govst.edu 

    Field Education