We invite you to the 2023 GovState
Distinguished Alumni Reception

Join us in honoring GovState Alumni voted as exceptional members of the Alumni Association followed by a performance from former members of New Power Generation in Dearly Beloved... A Tribute to Prince.

Purchase tickets*

*The deadline for purchasing tickets is Friday, October 13 at 12 p.m.

Event Details

Date: October 21, 2023
Reception: 5:00 p.m.
Show: 7:30 p.m.
Location: Governors State University, Hall of Governors

Keynote Speaker

Dr. Von Mansfield
Retired H-F Superintendent and Former NFL Player

Show Details

Dearly Beloved... A Tribute to Prince
by Former Members of New Power Generation

Reception Details

Check in available at 4:30 p.m.
Semi-formal attire is encouraged.
Heavy hors-d'oeuvres and refreshments are provided.


College of Arts and Sciences
Mr. Mitchell Davis ‘13
Ms. Monica Gordon ‘02
Ms. Janet Muchnik ‘81
Dr. Terri Winfree ‘00

College of Health and Human Services
Mr. Akhilesh Duratkar ‘12
Dr. Leslie Engstrand-Guca ‘06
Dr. Patricia A. Martin ‘89
Ms. Latesha Newson ‘15

College of Business
Mr. Rick Blasgen ‘82
Mr. Ron Daly ‘77
Dr. Judy Mitchell ‘04
Ms. Kayla Siam ‘14

College of Education and Human Development
Mr. Kyle Hastings ‘03
Mr. Myron Hester ‘07
Dr. Lenell Navarre ‘99
Dr. Kim Snow ‘00

Rising Star
Mr. Jerry Davis-El ‘18
Mr. Jarrell Harris ‘21
Ms. Jeanine Latrice Koger ‘23
Dr. Kathleen O’Loughlin ‘19

Ms. Christine Cochrane
Dr. Susan Gaffney
Dr. Dianna Galante
Dr. Larry McClellan


Distinguished Alumni Award per College (Graduated 1972 to 2017)
Recognizes one who has contributed to their field of study or has achieved a record of major distinction in their career.

Rising Star Alumni (Graduated 2018 to 2023)
Recognizes a graduate from within the last five years for superior accomplishments

Retiree and Emeriti Category
Recognizes one GSU emeritus/retiree who demonstrates extraordinary commitment to their community and Governors State University demonstrated through service and distinction.


Six committees of 28 individuals carefully read over each nomination. Each committee member scores each entry individually. Final scores are then collected for an overall score. This means each nominee has been selected through a rigorous process.

Committee Members

College of Arts and Sciences
Stacy Amedeo
Dr. Mary Carrington
Dr. Walter Henne
Dan Nearing
Dr. Jason Zingsheim
Dr. Jillian Klean Zwilling

College of Health and Human Services
Dr. Catherine Balthazar
Dr. Nicole Bing
Dr. Maryleen Jones
Dr. Cathy Tymkow

College of Business
Anne Frosh
Dr. David Green
Dr. John Simon
Dr. Steve Wagner

College of Education and Human Development
Dr. Shannon Dermer
Dr. Glenna Howell
Dr. Danel Koonce
Dr. Amy Vujaklija

Rising Star
Darcie Campos
Dr. Janelle Crowley
Dr. Rashidah Muhammad
Dr. David Rhea
Dr. Konya Sledge
Jessica Specht

Dr. Stuart Fagan
Judy Ferneau
Joan Johns-Maloney
Penny Perdue

This event is sponsored by

Questions? Email AlumniRelations2@govst.edu for details and ticket information.