Orbert Davis' Chicago Jazz Philharmonic 


Saturday, April 13, 2024 at 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: $34-69 

Children 14 & under: $20 

Runtime: 120 mins

Website Button - Buy TicketsWebsite Button - Box Office

Conducted by Orbert Davis
Featuring Maggie Brown, Vocalist

Written by John Fountain, composed by Orbert Davis, and brought to life through the powerful vocals of Maggie Brown, Soul Migration draws on the stories of the 6 million African Americans who took part in America's 'Great Migration', fleeing the Jim Crow south to the industrial north. A seven-movement epic across time and space, Soul Migration celebrates the consciousness of a people and the enduring communities that they built. 

Soul Migration is a story of struggle as well as a story of victory and hope. A living history lesson—not only about Chicago—but also about every major city in the United States.

Orbert Davis shares, “For me, composing this piece was like staring into a family mirror. My parents were a product of the migration from the south in the late 1950s. It makes this piece personal.”Composed by Orbert Davis, “Soul Migration” is a powerful, soul-stirring, musical tribute inspired by the stories of the 6 million African Americans who fled the Jim Crow south to the industrial north.

Maggie Brown Soul Migration
Maggie Brown, Vocalist



Orbert Davis, trumpet
Maggie Brown, vocals
Steve Eisen, tenor sax/flute
Kevin King, tenor sax/bass clarinet/oboe
Leandro Lopez Varady, piano
Thaddeus Tukes, vibraphone
John Moulder, guitar
Ronald Hall, electric bass
Ernie Adams, drums

Media Sponsor