The GSU Honors Program Student Council is committed to providing an effective communication bridge between faculty, staff, and honors program students. We seek to model exceptional leadership, enhance learning experiences, develop innovative initiatives and promoting connections in and out of the classroom–in order to engage students in the GSU local and global communities.

View Student Council Constitution

Message from the Student Council Chair

My name is Kayla Warner and I am a senior here at Governors State University majoring in communication disorders with a minor in psychology. I have been a member of the honors program since the spring of 2018 and I currently serve as chair of the HP student council.  Some other organizations I am involved with include GSU’s NSSLHA and Alpha Lambda Delta chapters, as well as the Pre-Health Club. You can also find me in the Center for the Junior Year on campus, where I work as a peer mentor. Being a part of the student council has been such a great experience for me! I love that I have a say in what we do as a program and that I get to work alongside other dedicated students to make our visions for the program a reality.

It is the responsibility of the chair to organize and lead the council’s meetings, as well as to represent the council on the program’s Faculty Advisory Board.


Members

Kayla Warner, Chair

kwarner2@student.govst.edu

Colton Krska, Treasurer

ckrska@student.govst.edu

Melanie O'Connell, Secretary

moconnell2@student.govst.edu

Lorraine Selucky, Public Relations

lselucky@student.govst.edu

Shaylnn Krause, Event Coordinator I

skrause@student.govst.edu

Dasaray Ransberry, Event Coordinator II

dransberry@student.govst.edu

Logan Krska, Freshman Representative

lkrska@student.govst.edu

Brenda Salgado-Alverado, Transfer Representative I

bsalgadoalvarado@student.govst.edu

James Zumhagen, Transfer Representative II

jzumhagen@student.govst.edu


Resources