We are here to help!

GSU4U is an initiative by the Office of the Dean of Students (ODOS) to strengthen support for student success. GSU4U connects students to campus and community resources when they are facing personal difficulties, such as food and housing insecurity. We are dedicated to assisting all students experiencing personal difficulties no matter how serious or small the situation may seem.

What we do:

  • We connect students to community agencies that offer assistance with housing, food, clothing, utility, and prescription fulfillment.
  • We assist with applications for food stamps and medical assistance.
  • We connect students to healthcare and counseling services.
  • We connect students to academic tutoring and planning services.
  • We provide departmental presentations related to helping students and staff identify distressed students.  

What students say:

"GSU4U has been the bridge to help me to succeed here at GSU. The hardship of being a student without a stable place to live is extremely difficult especially when you do not have a family support system. GSU4U has given me access to resources and stability that will help me to succeed in my program and to continue towards graduation. I believe in GSU4U." - Anonymous Student

If you or the student you are assisting has an emergency, please call GSU Public Safety at 708.534.4900 or local police at 911.

If you need assistance, please contact the GSU4U Program in the Office of the Dean of Students. Your information will be kept private.

Email: GSU4U@govst.edu
Phone: 708.235.2845
Office: C1310


* Off-campus organizations and resources listed on this page are provided for informational purposes only. Any reference obtained from this webpage to a specific organization does not constitute or imply an endorsement by Governors State University of the organization. The views and opinions expressed in any referenced document do not necessarily state or reflect those of Governors State University.


  • Need help? Start with a GSU4U Ambassador!

    +

    gsu4u ambassadors sticker GSU4U Ambassadors are staff and faculty who are aware of the challenges students may experience around hunger and housing and can help students connect and navigate resources. Ambassadors can be identified by the GSU4U Ambassador sticker (pictured at right).

    Want to become an Ambassador? Workshops occur each semester, contact gsu4u@govst.edu for more information.

     

    Department
    NameEmail
    AdmissionsTiffani Robertsontrobertson3@govst.edu
     Collice King      cking@govst.edu
     Mark Crawleymcrawley2@govst.edu
    Center for the Junior YearLakia Colquittlcolquitt2@govst.edu
     David Rheadrhea@govst.edu
     Peer Success CoachesOffice: C1321
    College of Arts & SciencesMerri Wilkersonmwilkerson@govst.edu
     George Nkulenugnkulenu@govst.edu
     Novia Pagonenpagone@govst.edu
     Kerri Morriskmorris2@govst.edu
     Ben Almassibalmassi@govst.edu
    College of EducationRaquel Riosrrios@govst.edu
    College of Health & Human ServicesCynthia Carrccarr@govst.edu
     Runez Benderrbender@govst.edu
    Dual Degree Program    Jessica Spechtjspecht@govst.edu
     Student Transition AssistantsOffice: A2122
    Enrollment ManagementRandi Schneiderrschneider@govst.edu
       
    Financial Aid      Carol Pierson-Milhouscmilhous@govst.edu
    Financial ServicesLinda Theres-Jonesltheres-jones@govst.edu
     Jeanna Brown     jbrown24@govst.edu
    Human ResourcesStephanie Juarezsjuarez@govst.edu
    Institutional ResearchPhyllis Streeterpstreeter@govst.edu
    New Student ProgramsRoshaunda Rossrross3@govst.edu
    Office of the Dean of StudentsAurelio Valenteavalente@govst.edu
     Nikki Witt Penwellnwittpenwell@govst.edu
    Office of the ProvostColleen Sextoncsexton@govst.edu
    Public Safety/GSU PoliceOfficer Turnerhturner@govst.edu
    RegistrarJason Vignonevignone@govst.edu
     Kimberly Petersonkpeterson1@govst.edu
    Student LifeSheree Sandersonssanderson@govst.edu
    Undergraduate Academic Advising CenterLisa Helmlhendrickson@govst.edu
     Stacy Amedeosamedeo@govst.edu
     Sabrina Slocumsslocum@govst.edu
     Rebecca Schreursrschreurs@govst.edu
    University HousingAshley Stewartastewart6@govst.edu
     Betsy Josephejoseph@govst.edu
     Corinne Martincmartin8@govst.edu
     Mushtaq Choudharymchoudhary@govst.edu

     

  • Quick Overview of Campus Resources

    +

    Toolkit of GSU Campus Resources includes information about housing support, financial aid, food, storage, shower facilities, books and class materials, Career Closet, and emergency necessities.

     

  • Link Card (SNAP Benefits) Applications

    +

     snapIllinois Hunger Coalition assists with completing LINK card applications for SNAP benefits. Illinois Hunger Coalition will be on-campus several times per semester.

    Spring 2018: Tuesday, March 20 & Tuesday, April 17

    Appointment signup! - Appointments given priority, walk-ins welcome.

     

    If you need assistance before the next on-campus date, please contact the Illinois Hunger Coalition Hunger Hotline at 800.359.2163 or online at http://www.ilhunger.org

    A photo ID (state ID) and information about your income is required to complete an application. 

    To be eligible as a full time student, you must be one of the following:

    • working 20 hours a week
    • participating in the work study program
    • raising a child under 6
    • raising a child over 6 without access to childcare
    • over the age of 50
    • have a physical or mental impairment preventing you from work

    Questions about eligibility for benefits can be directed to the Illinois Hunger Coalition.
    Applications can also be completed online through the Illinois Department of Human Services.

  • Food Resources

    +

    Visit the GSU Food Pantry located in the Jaguar Den in A2140.

    View a list of food pantries and meal services here: GSU4U Food Resources

  • Housing & Shelter Resources

    +

    View a list of homeless shelters and housing resources: GSU4U Housing & Shelter Resources

    South Suburban Cook County Call Center assists with housing referrals and can be reached at 877.426.6515 on Monday-Friday from 8:30am-4:30pm. The call center provides two types of referrals: Homelessness Prevention (HP) Referrals (rental assistance, security deposit) & Diversion/Short Term Stabilization (STSS) Referrals (Non-financially based, case management). To qualify for the HP referrals the individual must have a income and proof of their hardship, (i.e. what prevented them from paying last months rent or proof of why they must move and can't pay forward for security deposit). STSS referrals are given to those who do not qualify for HP. However, STSS referrals are limited and it is recommended to call early in the day for assistance.

     

  • Legal Services

    +

    Illinois Legal Aid Online's mission is to increase access to justice for lower-income and vulnerable Illinois residents. The website includes information on legal issues (laws, filing paperwork), how to find a lawyer, and connections to resources. Information is available regarding the following issues:

    • Family & Safety
    • House & Apartment
    • Money & Debt
    • Health & Benefits
    • Business & Work
    • School and Education
    • Citizens & Immigration
    • Crime & Traffic

    Immigration Legal Services Resource Guide provides a directory of organizations that assist with immigration and naturalization services in Illinois. 

    Cook County Free/Low Cost Legal Services Directory

    Will County Free/Low Cost Legal Services Directory

  • Healthcare Services

    +

    GSU Health and Student Counseling Center offers free medical and counseling services to registered students.

    Aunt Martha's offers care coordination, healthcare services, child welfare, and community wellness resources.
    Location: 19990 Governors Highway, Olympia Fields, IL 60461
    Phone: 708.747.7100

  • Childcare Resources

    +

    Information coming soon!

  • Transportation for Medicaid Participants

    +

    First Transit assists Medicaid Participants who have limited access to non-emergency transportation to and from a Medicaid covered health care service.

    First Transit is the call center that the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services (HFS) contracted with to provide the review of prior authorizations for most non-emergency transportation. First Transit is NOT a transportation provider, and does not arrange transportation. First Transit does maintain a list of enrolled Medicaid transportation providers for Participants to select from.

    Information on eligibility and scheduling transportation is available on the First Transit Website.